Skip to main content Skip to main content


The International Institute for Sustainable Laboratories (I2SL) was pleased to once again offer a parallel track of symposia during the conference. Each half-day session featured presentations and panel discussions that provided an in-depth look into pressing issues in sustainable development around the world.

On-Site Renewable Energy Systems for Zero Carbon Laboratories
Moderator: Phil Wirdzek, International Institute for Sustainable Laboratories

Otto Van Geet, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Randall Lacey, Cornell University
Steve Voss, SunEdison
Terry Gallagher, Kaufman Brothers
Kurt Borg, Solar Integrated
Samara Larson, University of California at Irvine
Doug Payne, REgrid
Jesse Denver, City of San Jose

Metering, Benchmarking, and Beyond—Looking to the Future for Laboratory Energy Management
Moderator: Dan Amon, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Chris Martin, University of North Carolina
Greg Leifer, National Institutes of Health
Paul MacGregor, Nexant
Fred Brunk, Siemens
David Kidd, Power Measurement/Schneider-Electric
Paul Mathew, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Bill Gaines, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Laboratory-Intensive Campus Developments in Europe
Moderator: Peter James, Higher Education Environmental Performance Improvement (HEEPI) Initiative

Stevens Williams, Flad Architects
Reto Naef, Novartis Pharmaceuticals
Peter Jackson, Centre for Emergency Preparedness and Response
Ralf Streckwall, The Max Delbrueck Center for Molecular Medicine Berlin-Buch Helmoltz Association of National Research Centers

Cross-Contamination in Healthcare Facilities: Prevention Through Balanced and Integrated Design Approach
Moderator: Simona Besnea, CPP, Inc.

Simona Besnea, CPP, Inc.
Rohit Saxena
Michael Street
, HDR Architects
Steve Black, JE Dunn Construction

Back to Agenda

Back to Conference Page

EPA Home | OARM Home | DOE Home | FEMP Home

This page is no longer updated.
EPA gave I2SL permission to house this page as a historic record of the Labs21 Annual Conference.